Pass-through tax rules

2026 PTET

Louisiana PTET 2026: deadline, rate, who can elect

Louisiana (LA), tax year 2026, from the same rules the connector returns. Last verified October 24, 2026.

Informational. Not tax advice.

Elective PTET

Yes

Act 442 of 2019 allows an S corporation, or an entity taxed as a partnership, to elect entity-level taxation. The bulletin says an approved election stays in effect for later years until it is terminated.

Who can elect

An S corporation or an entity taxed as a partnership for federal income tax purposes.

The bulletin states those entities.

How the election is made

Submit Form R-6980 and the documentation the bulletin describes. The Department reviews the request and emails an approval. The election may be requested on or after February 1, 2020, for years beginning on or after January 1, 2019.

The bulletin says this guidance does not have the force of law.

Election deadline

R.S. 47:287.732.2(A)(2) says the election is in writing and may be made during the preceding taxable year, or during the taxable year and on or before the fifteenth day of the fourth month after the close of the taxable year. The secretary may treat a later election as timely if the secretary determines there was reasonable cause.

The section is the election for an S corporation or an entity taxed as a partnership.

Rate

The Department's answer to the PTE-election rate question says that for taxable periods beginning on or after January 1, 2025, the individual income tax rate is a flat 3 percent, and the graduated brackets have been repealed. The FAQ tables label tax years 2025 and after at 3 percent in each bracket.

The FAQ does not separately state an entity-level computation beyond that answer.

Owner relief

An exclusion for an individual shareholder, partner, or member for income taxed at the entity level, under R.S. 47:297.14. Corporations, estates, and trusts are not eligible for that exclusion.

The bulletin says income that is not taxed at the entity level is outside the exclusion.

Estimates

Not verified. The PTE-election rate FAQ and Revenue Information Bulletin 19-019 do not state estimated-payment dates.

Sunset or repeal

An approved election remains in effect for the year it is made and for later years until it is terminated.

The bulletin states that duration. It does not state a statutory end date.

Still open in the source review

  • R.S. 47:287.732.2 states the election deadline. It does not state estimated-payment dates.

Sources for this year

Bonus-depreciation conformity is on its own page.