Rhode Island PTET 2026: deadline, rate, who can elect
Rhode Island (RI), tax year 2026, from the same rules the connector returns. Last verified October 24, 2026.
Informational. Not tax advice.
Elective PTET
Yes
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, a pass-through entity may elect to pay state income tax at the entity level under R.I. Gen. Laws section 44-11-2.3.
Who can elect
A pass-through entity filing the election on RI Schedule PTE. The instructions cover the tax paid on behalf of partners, members, or shareholders.
The RI-1065 instructions are the partnership booklet. They state the statutory election.
How the election is made
Complete RI Schedule PTE and include it with the return. The entity issues an RI Schedule K-1 showing the tax paid and any increasing modification.
An electing entity does not withhold on nonresident owners under section 44-11-2.2.
Election deadline
The instructions do not state a separate election date. Form RI-1065 is due on or before the fifteenth day of the third month after the close of the taxable year, with the single-member LLC exception the instructions state.
The election is made by including Schedule PTE with the return.
Rate
5.99 percent.
The instructions say a pass-through entity may elect to pay the entity-level tax at 5.99 percent for years beginning on or after January 1, 2019.
Owner relief
For years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, the state credit is 90 percent of the tax paid at the entity level, passed through pro rata. The credit requires that the tax be paid. The amount paid is the amount on line 5 of RI Schedule PTE.
The instructions say 90 percent is the maximum passed through.
Estimates
Section 44-11-2.3 does not state estimated-payment installment dates.
The section was read through subsection (f). It states the election, the 5.99 percent rate, and the credit. It does not state installment dates.
Sunset or repeal
Section 44-11-2.3(b) allows the election for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2019. The section, read through subsection (f), does not state an end date.
The history line cites P.L. 2019, ch. 88, and P.L. 2024, ch. 117, effective January 1, 2025. No subsection states an expiration.
Still open in the source review
- The Division's pass-through entity web page returned HTTP 403. The 2025 RI-1065 instructions are the source. They state the rate for years beginning on or after January 1, 2019.
Sources for this year
Bonus-depreciation conformity is on its own page.