Pass-through tax rules

2026 PTET

Washington PTET 2026: deadline, rate, who can elect

Washington (WA), tax year 2026, from the same rules the connector returns. Last verified October 24, 2026.

Informational. Not tax advice.

Elective PTET

No

Not effective for 2026. RCW 82A.04.520 imposes a pass-through entity tax beginning January 1, 2028. The Department FAQ says Washington does not currently have an individual income tax and that a 9.9 percent tax on high incomes begins January 1, 2028.

Who can elect

Not effective for 2026. When the tax applies, a pass-through entity may elect. A partnership or limited liability company elects through a person authorized to sign the return. An S corporation elects through an officer. The election may exclude owners who do not participate.

RCW 82A.04.520 states who makes the election.

How the election is made

Not effective for 2026. The entity files an election with the Department by the Department's prescribed date, and no later than June 15 of the taxable year. The election is annual and irrevocable once filed.

The statute states the filing rule.

Election deadline

Not effective for 2026. For a year the tax is in effect, the election is due no later than June 15 of that taxable year.

RCW 82A.04.520 states June 15.

Rate

Not effective for 2026. Beginning January 1, 2028, RCW 82A.04.520 imposes 9.90 percent on the taxable income of an electing entity.

The Department FAQ separately describes a 9.9 percent individual income tax beginning January 1, 2028, for individuals and joint filers with adjusted gross income above $1 million.

Owner relief

Not effective for 2026. When the tax applies, each participating owner is allowed a credit equal to that owner's proportionate share of the tax paid by the electing entity.

RCW 82A.04.520 points to the credit in RCW 82A.04.140.

Estimates

Not effective for 2026. Estimated payments under RCW 82A.04.520 are not required before July 1, 2029. When required, they are made in the same manner and at the same times as individual estimated payments under RCW 82A.04.510. This section does not state those dates. Payments by the electing entity are in lieu of owner estimates under RCW 82A.04.510 for income included in the entity's taxable income.

RCW 82A.04.520 states the July 1, 2029 start and the cross-reference. It does not list the individual estimate dates.

Sunset or repeal

The tax begins January 1, 2028. RCW 82A.04.520 does not state an end date. A note under that section points to the notes following RCW 82A.04.030 for an automatic expiration date. That date is not stated in section 520.

The Department FAQ says the first individual-income-tax returns are due in April 2029.

Still open in the source review

  • Not effective for tax year 2026.
  • The Department of Revenue FAQ and RCW 82A.04.520 do not discuss a court challenge.

Sources for this year

Bonus-depreciation conformity is on its own page.